Book Covers: Part III

Before I get to the final 5 selected covers, back in Part I there’s a Hansel and Gretel image I really like, but one in which the typography looks like it came from a photocopied elementary school bulletin. I found that same cover with a much better title treatment, so I’m posting that here first:

Even though this one is lit more to daytime, it loses none of its creepiness.

Now my final 5 (as always, in no order):

This is a great 1945 depiction of a moment from The Fisherman and His Wife. Classic children’s book illustration with the exaggerated, stylized flounder having his say. No title or typography of any kind (We can assume it’s on the spine.) was not uncommon for these types of books in that era. Soft, limited palette that has obviously faded in this image.

.

.

.

.

How cool is this silhouette? Actually not sure what tale it’s from; I’m still investigating. Any ideas? I feel like it’s going to be obvious when I figure it out. Regardless, the tangle of flowering vines adds complexity, and the poses and expressions tell a great story moment. Just which story is it?? Little old man? Spirit/nymph with keys? The shoe? Like I said, I’m still investigating.

.

.

.

.

This one is unusual for one reason. The blue is striking, and the framing and clock design detail work, but unless I’m mistaken, the image is supposed to remind us of Cinderella. And if that’s case, doesn’t she still have over 58 minutes left at the party? Odd. I don’t buy that a “2 minutes to midnight” read would have adversely affected the composition.

.

.

.

Love this one, too. I researched the witch and the hollow tree and found The Tinderbox which is a Hans Christian Andersen tale. A little more poking around uncovered the tale attributed to the Grimm brothers and called The Magic Tinderbox. Not sure about that, but the simple, one-color image here is great: the witch emerges from the personified tree’s mouth with the castle backdrop. And of course, just the name that carries so much impact for readers around the world.

.

.

Ending on the most modern take. Simple layout, simple photo and some digital effects that are thankfully not overdone. This idea of the magical wonder found in a book is perhaps a bit cliché, but I like it here. Nice pick-up the light color in the title, although I don’t like the text repeat of “Grimm”. I would have replaced “Grimms'” with “Selected” or “Complete” (depending on the content.) And there’s that dang S-apostrophe again!) Oh well.

.

.

.

So there you have it. 15 different covers – out of literally hundreds! This series could have gone on for quite a while. Feel free to share any thoughts or even direct us to a favorite you didn’t see here.

Mm

Leave a Reply

